David Friedman on Legal Systems Very Different from Ours: SlateStarCodex Online Meetup

7

Personal Blog

David Friedman on Legal Systems Very Different from Ours: A brief survey of a range of legal system, past and present, from Imperial China and Periclean Athens to modern Amish and Romany.

Sign up here, up to an hour before the event, and we'll send you an invitation to the online meetup  

David Friedman is an academic economist with a doctorate in physics recently retired from spending the previous twenty-three years teaching in a law school. His first book, The Machinery of Freedom: Guide to a Radical Capitalism, was published in 1973 and includes a description of how a society with property rights and without government might function. There as elsewhere, he offers a consequentialist defense of libertarianism.

His most recent non-fiction book is Legal Systems Very Different from Ours, covering systems from Periclean Athens through modern Amish and Romany. He is also the author of three novels, one commercially published and two self-published, and, with his wife, a self-published medieval and renaissance cookbook and a larger self-published book related to their hobby of historical recreation.

Much of his published work, including journal articles, essays, drafts of forthcoming work and the full text of several books, can be read on his web page:  daviddfriedman.com

The time is  17:30 UTC, 20:30 Israel Daylight Time, 10:30 Pacific Daylight Time.