Web AI discussion Groups

by Donald Hobson2 min read30th Jun 2020No comments

10

Ω 3

CommunityAI
Personal Blog
Crossposted from the AI Alignment Forum. May contain more technical jargon than usual.

After the success of Web Taisu, I have decided to organize a similar event.

Here are the rules, this document is an attempt to create common knowledge among the participants.

If you have an Idea for a topic to discuss

Post it to reddit on https://www.reddit.com/r/AI_Safety_Meetups/

Comment on these posts to add points that you think are interesting, vote up to indicate that you want to discuss a topic.

Scheduling

On Friday 3 July, about 12:00 am BST, I looked at this subreddit, and select all the topics. I will created a google doc where you can fill in what topics you are interested in, and when you are busy.

Timeslots will be between 2:00 to 9:30 pm BST (including breaks) (9:00 am to 4:30 pm EST) (6:00 am to 1:30pm PDT)


Timeslot 1:

2:00 pm to 3:30 pm BST, 9:00 am to 10:30 am EST, 6:00 am to 7:30 am PDT.

Timeslot 2:

4:00 pm to 5:30 pm BST, 11:00 am to 12:30 am EST, 8:00 am to 9:30 am PDT.

Timeslot 3:

6:00 pm to 7:30 pm BST, 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm EST, 10:00 am to 11:30 am PDT.

Timeslot 4:

8:00 pm to 9:30 pm BST, 3:00 pm to 4:30 pm EST, 12:00 am to 1:30 pm PDT.


Each timeslot will be available on Tuesday 7, Wednesday 8, and Friday 10 of July.

I placed the exact timeslots, and a link to the google doc here on Friday 3 July.

The doc will close, and a timetable will be placed here on Monday 6 of July, at around 12:00 am BST.

Scheduling Form

Please fill in your utilities for how much you want to attend each event, and for whatever else you would be doing at that time.

On Monday I will run the scheduling program found at https://github.com/DonaldHobson/Simple_scheduler . (You don't need to follow this link unless you want to double check my code, use the same code for your own event, or examine the details to respond strategically. )

The form is here: This form no longer does anything. Do not use.

https://forms.gle/ZNsZtDhqppL64Dpw8

So You need to

12:00 am BST Friday 3 July - 12:00 am BST Monday 6 July:

Visit this page again, find link to google doc, fill it in.

Carry on discussing the topics on reddit

12:00 am BST Monday 6 July - onwards

Look here for timetable and links to videocalls.

Timetable

Meeting password="guest"

Part 2 starts 50 minutes after part 1

Part 1 starts when the timeslot starts, look up

If you want to talk about some other aspect of AI, your still welcome.

Tuesday 7 July, Slot 1
Can we put any upper bounds on the capabilities of realworld AI systems.

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/78544993799?pwd=VElWU0dPZjhiVDNnMzN1ak1Hc3hrdz09
Meeting ID: 785 4499 3799

part 2

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/73544490221?pwd=YkU0MmEwRUpiVzNBYk12OVJ4U2NVUT09
Meeting ID: 735 4449 0221


Tuesday 7 July, Slot 3

Mandelbrot sets and approximation problems.


https://us04web.zoom.us/j/79417359410?pwd=ek93dzhQSjVIa0lybHpaclhrUUlyQT09

Meeting ID: 794 1735 9410

part 2

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/77239135068?pwd=cDZkTzZlYWpJVlUxOERJUUVpWVJEZz09

Meeting ID: 772 3913 5068


Friday 10 July, Slot 2
Discussing and extending Hubinger's "An overview of 11 proposals for building safe advanced AI"

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/75868281257?pwd=akIyRHlDMDhIYUxyaStHY1Fvc0dzUT09

Meeting ID: 758 6828 1257

part 2

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/77812559823?pwd=WW9ldnNqc2hRSjdxMzNSY1hKMURBUT09

Meeting ID: 778 1255 9823

Friday 10 July, Slot 4

Freeform Discussion

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/71015544058?pwd=OW5PRTgzSFV3OVRQUXBXQjVnZmplZz09

Meeting ID: 710 1554 4058

part 2

https://us04web.zoom.us/j/72037016399?pwd=MXkxbCtYOXpiZFpabWpJbTlQdVcvdz09

Meeting ID: 720 3701 6399

Whatever you want to talk about.

Details

Any participants should be able to join zoom videocall meetings.

Links to the videocalls will be placed at the bottom of this page, and in the relevant reddit post.

Slots will consist of two 40 minute video meetings, separated by a 10 minute break. (The maximum length of call that zoom will allow for free is 40 minutes. "This is not a coincidence because nothing is ever a coincidence." Unsong)


Price: Free.

If you have any miscellaneous questions, or think I have missed something, say so in the comments. If it isn't well organized, or goes pear shaped for some reason, sorry, and I'll try to fix it, but I haven't had much practice organizing stuff yet.

If you want to do a similar unconference later, feel free to copy this text. If this event is successful, I might do another.

Community2AI2
Personal Blog

10

Ω 3